Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been told by my local dealer that in order to change the rear tire that it needs to be cut off the rim. Also that the tire cannot be removed or the new one fitted using the standard mechanical equipment.
Has anyone else experienced this issue???
Thanks

·
Registered
8 Posts
I just replaced mine myself using only a harbor freight changer. I did not have to cut the old tire off, although it was quite a task. I did however have to have a local tire shop use their air blaster to get the new car tire I installed to set the bead on that monster rim. Me thinks your guy is just setting you up for the big bill he would charge you for the tire change. But, I will go on record to say "it is not an easy job for an inexperienced tire guy like myself".

·
Registered
617 Posts
I've changed out several rear tires and I am a lousy to mediocre mechanic. Its not that hard. Get a good bike lift and the rest is just the usual wrenches/torque wrenches, plus the usual amount of frustration and foul language that goes with just about anything mechanical. However, I don't mount the tire myself I take it down to a local bike shop. They have said that getting the tire off and on the rim is more difficult than most motorcycle tires, but that is their problem not mine.

·
Registered
1,398 Posts
My dealer cuts the tyre off the rim. The tyre changing machine can do it but it is hard on the rim.

·
Registered
648 Posts
I have been told by my local dealer that in order to change the rear tire that it needs to be cut off the rim. Also that the tire cannot be removed or the new one fitted using the standard mechanical equipment.
Has anyone else experienced this issue???
Thanks
That's crazy!
I'd avoid that dealer!
Changing the rear tire on the Rocket III is the same as other bikes with a 240 tire.

·
Banned
557 Posts