Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,016 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i guess it's time to replace the front fork springs with some sort of progressive spring, but i have a few questions first before jui commit to doing it...

1. which brand of progressive-style spring do you recommend and why?

2. what weight fork oil do you recommend and why?

3. how difficult is it to replace the springs? do i also have to change out the fork seals? is it a difficult job for some one to perform who has never done it before, as i have no experience with tinkering with front suspension at all, but have done every repair and mod on my bike so far by myself, including replacing brakes, clutch springs, carbset-ups, replacing the master cylinder after a wreck, removing the triple tree to tap out a bolt that had it's head sheared off in a wreck, etc. and feel confident enough to do my own valve checks and adjustments onece i hit the 12k mark.)

4. what is a spacer? what is it's purpose/function, and is there a stock size that is recommended, and do some spring kits come with pre-fabbed spacers or do you manufacture your own, and if so, out of what material?

5. is it worth it to go through all the trouble of repalcing just the springs and not install emulators as well? what do the emulators do? i ask because at this time i am on a bit of a budget (major back surgery in december after severely herniating 2 discs and finding out i have spinal stenosis after a nasty jiu jitsu injury, and was out of work for the last 3 months and have some medical bills i have to pay off!)