Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i got my bike all sorted out and ready for the summer and just so happened to break the windscreen and front right upper fairing. Great timing i know.i said in another thread once that these plastics arent brittle. I take that statement back, they are very brittle. Had the bike parked downhill in first gear. Instinctively i grabbed the clutch upon approach which caused the bike to roll so i grabbed for the brake and snapped the fairing.

So my questions are:
would it he difficult to make this repair? I have little experience in bodywork.

What product would i use to repair it?

I wont be able to buy new plastic until at least the end of the summer as it costs around 125 dollars plus like 25 shipping then ill have to paint it to match and buy a new windscreen. So, should i just ride out the summer with it broken?

Any advice appreciated
Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
57 Posts
Epoxy will stick to it. Don't use polyester fiberglass resin. You can fix that with one of those dual syringe epoxy things. Use vaseline on the part you don't want to get glue on, like the paint that shows outside. Plan it out so it can be clamped somehow so you don't have to hold it until the glue sets. Once you mix the epoxy you then just put it into the jig or clamps you have ready. You'll end up with a line on that windscreen. I'd separate the two for the job unless it helps hold it in the clamp. It'll be ok from a distance. Perhaps you could spray that screen black to hide the crack. Once you get it to stick in place I'd put some glass cloth on the inside of the fairing to reinforce it. More glue isn't stronger a backing material is. Next time I'm faced with such a repair I'm going to try the method DaveC has found.

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·