Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all

For a while now I've been getting pretty sick of how noisy the top end of my motor is, so today I decided to take off the camshaft cover and inspect the decompression cams. But what I ended up doing was removing them altogether.

I'm in Australia, and while it can get cold, our winters are pretty mild, so I don't feel cold starts will be an issue.

So my question is, does anyone see an issue with this?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
925 Posts
If your engine starts and runs without them you may well be saving yourself from a future headache. I confess to not having a close knowledge of how they operate - I’m not a mechanic - but I do know of 2 1700s that needed new exhaust cams because one end where the decompressor attached had broken. My understanding was that the decompressor assemblies put an extreme amount of pressure on the camshaft and in these, presumably isolated cases, it sheered off. Both were fixed under warranty by the way; one as goodwill because the bike (Storm) was about 5 years old.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Its my understanding that the decompression cams fuction is to save wear & tear on the starter. I would like to hear how it works out for you. While l was doing my 12000 mi. valve check, l noticed that the decompression system looks weak to me. Ive heard that there is a spring upgrade that l had planned on doing. If its feasible to remove it without ill effects, l would do it. One less thing to break, right? Im interested in hearing others feedback on this subject

·
Registered
664 Posts