Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok. There are learning experiences, and then there are humbling experiences. The difference, IMO, is your perspective...

I'm not a mechanic. Moreover, I have never really been mechanically inclined. However, when I bought my 2007 Bonnie Black and paid for the 500 mile maintenance, (+$175 parts and labor), I realized it was a great opportunity to learn something I've always been interested in and passionate about, and save some money. But I've never 'worked on' a bike, car, scooter, moped, skateboard, bicycle, or anything involving simple, let alone complex mechanics.......and this has never been as evident as it was yesterday when I attempted to remove my airbox, fit preds, and rejet my carbs.

But, thankfully, this does have a happy ending...

First things first. I have the craftsman yellow 1500lb motorcycle jack. Great reviews, and a great price. And the instructions make it seem idiot proof. Really made the job so much easier. I've never used a jack before, and while there were periods of alarm when the jack would lock into place and I thought it was falling to it's certain death, it worked like a charm. Practically invaluable for this job in retrospect.

Second, I was installing the British-Customs airbox removal kit, battery box, K&N pod filters, appropriate jets, and predators. But, as most of you know, it comes with no instructions. And while I have the utmost respect for Sean and the BC company, for someone like me, it was daunting not having those instructions on a Sunday afternoon. Especially since they are closed on the weekends (understandably) and aren't available for questions until Monday morning.