Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys, i have just bought a 1 year old triple, looking at the rear tyre tonight i am unsure if it needs replacing, the bike has only covered 2700 miles but the centre of the tyre has little or no tread, the one thing i have noticed it that the tread does not seem to cut into the centre of the tyre,their is plenty on the sides but the middle line looks smooth,

i am new to this sort of bike so am unsure what is right or wrong, i would not have thought they would have gone through a tyre in 2700 miles?

also the tyre is a dunlop D209 i think,

below are the rear tyre pics, plenty of depth on the sides but in the centre is seems nothing,

·
Premium Member
4,788 Posts
Looks OK, just gauging from the pictures. That's all the tread pattern there is on these. The center strip of the tire doesn't look to be worn flat yet, either, so that's a good thing.

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
im used to looking at tyres with a bit more meat on them if you know what i mean:D, thanks for that, just found out the battery is weak, its been sitting for a few weeks before i bought it and it has the alarm fitted, it had a full charge last night, but my oxford charger is only showing 12,7v and its giving the week warning, :mad:

·
Registered
210 Posts
+1 on what the other guys said.