Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have a 2015 Speedmaster purchased in 2016 that I have only put a little over 2,000 miles on, mainly a lot of short rides around Chicago where I used to call home. However, now home is Asheville, NC and I'm putting a lot more miles on the bike in the better weather and hitting up the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway any chance I get.

On one of these rides up the Parkway a couple of weeks ago on the way home I noticed a grinding/scraping sound whenever I pressed the rear brake. I live on the side of a mountain so it was pretty noticeable as I used the brake on on my way down the other side. I thought maybe a small rock or something had gotten in between the pad and rotor. Upon further inspection, I couldn't see anything but I noticed there is very little clearance between the pads and the rotor. It looks like basically none. I also noticed raised ridge like metal bumps on the rotor itself. No grooves or indentations. I should've taken some pics when it was light outside but I'm not sure they'd capture it anyway. Since I know it is a question that will be asked, the pads look fine, like there is plenty of area for wear left.

Since the nearest Triumph service shop is in Greenville, SC over an hour away, and I tend to do my own work anyway, my next step was going to be to remove the caliper and check the pads for anything weird and see if the caliper is operating correctly. I'd love it if you all here have some suggestions of what to look for and what could be causing the issue.