Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really liking the looks of the Speedmaster, I've been resisting ever since they came out a couple of years ago, and I'm still wanting one. But, I cant get past the 3 gallon tank capacity. I've had several Triumphs from the Hinckley Era Thunderbirds, to the Sprint 955, a couple of Bonnevilles and a 2013 Trophy SE with an almost 7 gallon fuel tank.
Even my Harley has a 5.1 gallon capacity, and my Versys X-300 has a 4.5 gallon tank.

I dont understand Triumph going with smaller and smaller fuel tanks over the last few years. I like to keep going, not stopping every 100 miles to fill up, especially if I'm doing a trip. From those of you who have them, what kind of realistic mileage are you getting from your beautiful machines?

·
Registered
50 Posts
About 49 mpg consistently. So, three gallons gets me a little under 150 miles. I find I need to stop that often anyway on a long trip, to take a brief rest, use the restroom, get a drink, etc. So I don't feel constrained by the tank.

·
Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I know it all depends on how heavy the right hand is, and the type of topography that you're riding, both are some pretty good mpg's. Thanks for the replies.

·
Premium Member
892 Posts
I used to get around 155 miles to the tankful and the low fuel light came on with around 35 miles left to go.

I'm with you though. All my other bikes, including the T120 had bigger tanks. That being said, don't let the smaller tank be a deal breaker. The new Speedmaster is a great bike.

·
Registered
44 Posts