Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm finally gonna take the plunge. I've been riding for about 13 years but have never owned my own. I am smitten with the 07 Thruxton. What a great looking bike. I love the classic styling! I know this page is full of Thruxton lovers, but I have a question. As riding is not new to but ownership is, would the Thruxton be a good choice? How are maintenance issues, costs? Are they reliable? I want to ride as much as possible and not have to worry about the thing breaking down and dumping money into constant repairs. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I recently found this forum and thought this would be the best place to get honest answers. Anything you can add to reinforce my decision would be great so feel free. Thanks in advance.

Lou
Tampa, Florida :razz:

·
Registered
421 Posts
First to address your concerns on the service and upkeep. Brit iron is notorious for running, always. The days of oil seepage, or as we that have had older Triumphs etc. call External Lubrication, are gone.

Service on the Thruxton or the other twins, can be done in your garage easily, in fact it is fun. You'll be modding it in no time... Everything is right there and easy to work on.

Mainteance costs are cheap compated to other hosed, faired, fastener bikes. Ask around for recommendations on dealers in your area, as you will hook up with other Triumph owners soon.

Get it, make it your own, and have no fear. These are truely great bikes.

On 2006-12-08 18:30, Mr_Lou wrote: