Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,579 Posts
A well-written article, but I think he missed one salient point: morons don't know they're morons and don't care. Try this test sometime: In any social setting, bring up cell phones and driving. The same response occurs every time. What idiots they are, those who drive and blab into a cellphone. Almost everyone knows that THEY can drive and talk or drive and text safely, but boy, none of those other idiots can and the cops should do something about it. It's a paradox that people don't realize how poorly they're driving because they aren't paying attention to their driving to begin with.

Sad Truths:
1) You're not going to educate anyone into looking for motorcycles. They aren't paying attention to the road to begin with. "All that Look-Twice-Save-A-Life stuff is for everyone else, I'm a GOOD driver."

2) It's up to YOU, the guy on the bike to watch out for THEM, because they aren't watching at all and there's not a damn thing you can do to make them look. It's not right and it's not fair. It's reality.

End of personal rant, thanks for your kind attention.

·
Registered
3,195 Posts
Read it all and it makes a lot of sense.

Interesting about the lack of gear. In New England this past week I probably saw hundreds of bikers of which about 99% wore no helmet and about 50% had no gear on. Doesn't matter to me though,..it's their lives,...but most people stared at me like I had 3 heads with my helmet, Tourmaster yellow textile jacket and over pants, boots and gloves

I have often wondered why some cagers have a healthy hatred for motorcyclists and have concluded that they are mad at themselves and their lives and need an excuse to vent,...much easier than doing the work introspectively.