Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I just made a deposit on the new trident and I’m really looking forward on riding it. But I have a question. Does the quickshifter make sense at low rpm. I mean what if you want to casually drive without killing the throttle. Something like a semi automatic if you will.

Or do you have to keep the revs high in order for it to work?

Does my question make sense? In essence what I’m asking is, I’m new and I’m worried I might be smashing the gear box (sort of) with my inexperience. So maybe just maybe, a quickshifter will help correct the errors adding also the fact that if you want you can drive faster when you feel more comfortable. I’m new to riding and I’m looking on some things that will make me feel more comfortable.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Don’t know about the trident but other quick shifter equipped bikes that I have ridden lurched abit when using the shifter at low revs. Smooth at higher revs but low revs, I use the clutch.
But I dont see whŷ it would wreck the gear box. Maybe ask the dealer.

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
I have the “quick shifter easy” from healtech that’s universal and customizable on the fly for pretty cheap too, so when I feel the spark cut-off on low revs is awkward I just tweak it from the app via Bluetooth but honestly the modules’ default settings is what works best on my ‘16 Speed Triple R.

Rule of thumb: upshift when 7k rpms+ and blip the throttle when downshifting to release the engine load on gearbox. Done and done.

Now, the new Trident I expect it to come with a lower RPM range so make that 5-6k instead of 7k, keep the eyes up tho! 👀 🤟.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5