Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been dreaming about owning a bonneville for several years now and have finally decided to take the plunge. I'm most likely looking at getting a gently used bike and wanted to get anyone's advice about which model years, engines and mods to look after?

Specifically:
1) is there a good model year to look after or others to avoid?
2) any big difference (outside of horsepower) between the 790 and 865 engines?
3) what about carberator vs. fuel injection

I found an interesting '03 Bonny (8k miles) that has several mods (big bore kit, custom carbs, off-road pipe, several aesthetic add ons and customizations for about $6.5k. The mods alone are said to have cost about $5k...is this a good route to go?

Any thoughts, comments or advice you can share would be greatly appreciated!

Chris

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
With those changes, I do not know if that is a good price - but it is 6 years old. Much later models can be had for less.
The engine and carb change my suggest a ballsy rider who hit it pretty hard. If I were looking for a used bike, I'd want an essentially stock machine, preferably owned by a fat. sedate retired accountant who rode only on Sunday afternoons in September.

·
Registered
62 Posts
my opinion

That sounds like a lot for a 6 year old bike. I am not too hep on buying a modified bike like that either, you don't know the expertise of the guy doing the modifications or how hard he rode it. I think you'd be better off finding a unmodified maybe newer model.

·
Registered
1,592 Posts