Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,016 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
i am a noob here, and everything i have learned about my bike i either learned here or from friends. i am about 4,000 miles away from the 12k service, (and will only take a few months to get there now that i am fully recovered from back surgery!) and was thinking about dropping in hotter cams when i did the 12k service.

i am somewhat competent when it comes to basic maintenance and repairing my bike (replaced clutch springs, brake pads, master cylinder, front wheel axle, have removed, rejetted and disassembled stock carbs a bunch, adjusted float bowls, removed AI and airbox, etc) but havent really ever tackled anything "major" yet like the 12k service, but i want to take the next step, and also learn more about my bike in the process, as i hae found that every project so far has allowed me to gain more knowledge (and more tools too instead of giving the dealer my money!)

what do i need to know about doing this that is diffrent from the regular valve check with the stock cams once i drop in the new cams? i have never done anything like this before, but want to do it myself to learn and get the experience.

·
Registered
8,877 Posts
make sure you have the pistons at tdc and the old cams lined up by the marks before you remove them.Dont turn motor over till you get the new cams in.Then its just a mater of getting the shims right.get a manual before you try it.As long as you stay with a cam that you dont need to cut pistons for clearance you will be fine.I think the tpusa813 is the best cam out there for what you are doing.

·
Premium Member
1,016 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
rmak-

i free'd up some space in the inbox!

·
Premium Member
1,016 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)