Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm brand new to the forum - and to Triumph. In fact, I don't even have my bike yet. I put down a deposit and it's supposedly on the boat coming from Britain as we speak, so I think I'll have it in a week or two. I'm also a pretty novice rider. Although i've had 3 motorcycles before - 2 '81 Suzuki GS550s and a '80 Honda CB750, I rose them for a total of a month combined. They were big time projects. I've also tried my friend's bikes of the same type and his Ducati 748.

I'm very excited to get my Bonne, and have given my choice a hell of a lot of thought over the last few years - it's been 5 years since I've had a bike. I think the SE is the perfect bike for me.

My question is about preventing exaust bluing and coppering discoloration. Although I don't think it's a really big deal and it seems it may be unavoidable, I've read about ways to treat it - that's what lead me to this forum in the first place. I can't find the Dyno Kote kit for sale anywhere, but the Kreem Blue Shield seems readily available. As my bike hasn't even been delivered to the dealer yet, I asked them if they could treat the inside of the pipes with Blue Shield prior to my use. The dealer told me that he wouldn't recommend it because the exhaust system is designed to transfer some of the heat across the chrome all the way to the end of the mufflers. If they were treated, he said, less heat would be able to dissipate on the exhuast gas path through the pipes, and this would be a problem. I assume he was talking about a problem for the engine, that maybe the increased heat within the pipes would give more back pressure to the engine or something. At least that was my assumption. I'd like to do this but won't unless I hear substantial advice to the contrary (that the treatment is OK).