Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have searched the forums and I can't find what I'm looking for, so here goes, even though I'm sure it's been covered before. I just picked up a '68 Bonneville. I had issues re-starting it to the point where I worn down the battery. The next day, the battery somehow re-charged itself and it started on the first kick. I am perhaps flooding the bike? When starting, do most of you crank the gas before giving it a kick, or just push in the carbs buttons in a few times to get the gas "tickled" in? Sorry for such a basic question, but I'm still learning.

·
Registered
625 Posts
If it has Amal carbs on it, you can twist the throttle all you want ... they do not have accelerator pumps and twisting the throttle does nothing if the bike isn't running ...

Tickle the carbs (use the plunger button) until gas oozes out.
Choke bike (slack the choke lever - loose = choked)
Kick the bike through with the key off
Turn on key
Kick bike (like you mean it!)

·
Registered
53 Posts
I noticed that your post said restarting. Is the bike still warm? If so you should just have to bring the bike up to compression on one of the cylinders, turn the key on and kick it through. Bike should start easily. Unless the bike is truly cold I don't usually tickle the carbs. Since the battery is recharging overnight it sounds like you may have other problems. Unless of course you kicked the bike over for a long period of time.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Do you kickstart it while sitting on it?

Don't wanna sound like a wuss here, but when I first got my 72 Trophy I stood next to it to kickstart it. The guy I bought it from showed me that's how he usually started it. You might give that a go until you get the hang of it.