Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a lot of information in this forum about mods to regulators and heavier wiring for post 2002 Sprints, but I have an 01 RS that suffers with poor charging. I am new to Triumphs and over the weekend have had the battery flat, spiked the alarm, suffered the ECU light (3 cycles to reset). It has a new battery but I ride with headlights on all of the time and with both headlights wired for dip, I guess it is fighting a losing battle. The alternator is an ND unit and appears to have the regulator built-in. It also appears to only have one thinish wire and an earth lead coming out of it.

I have bought an Optimate and wil start to use that whenever it is left, but I would prefer and engineered solution.

Would it help to run an alternative heavier main feed direct to the battery (with fuse)?

Great forum - thanks to everyone.

·
Super Moderator
22,109 Posts
Hello & welcome

your problems are likely going to come down to the condition of your wiring & connections - maybe even as simple as the battery terminals themselves - or that on the alternator.
There is a replacement regulator available for the integrated style alternator on your bike, but honestly I've never seen a problem with it.

There are two connections to the alternator - one is the input to the field coil, which is at battery voltage when the ignition is switched on.
The other (larger terminal) is the output.

You might try checking the voltage at both the alternator output and at the battery itself. Check the voltage across the battery terminals at idle and again at ~ 5k rpm.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
209 Posts
JohnNic,

I would heed what DEcosse says, since he definitely knows his way around Triumphs (he's posted some scary technical stuff, in case you're not aware).