Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When accelerating hard, my stock 2004 T100 runs well up to about 4000 rpm, then, like a switch was turned, the power drops and a vibration (engine miss?) starts. This occurs most frequently when going up hill or into a strong headwind. Typical scenario -- on I-80 headed up Parley's canyon, 5%-6% climb. Change lanes to pass truck and open throttle fully at 3000-3500 rpm in 4th or 5th gear. Bike accelerates to just past 4000 rpm and then the rate of acceleration suddenly drops noticeably and I feel a slight vibration in foot pegs and bars.

The vibration does not occur going downhill at similar speeds/rpm's so I think I'm feeling an engine miss.

I'm a poor mechanic, but I'm guessing this sounds like an electrical problem and I should start by replacing plugs, wires, and coil.

Would anyone care to offer other suggestions?

Thanks.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I appreciate the thought.

Would the fact that my problem is rpm dependent, rather than speed related, seem to point away from the breather problem? 4000 rpm in 4th is quite a different speed than 4000 rpm in 5th, yet the affect is the same.

·
Registered
3,885 Posts
Clearly a load-dependent issue...roll ons downhill at 4000 rpms not an issue, but uphill are an issue. Makes me wonder if your clutch is slipping under high load conditions...but that should be worse at low rpms when you whack open the throttle. Does it do the same thing when you knock it down a cog and run the revs up? IMHO, rolling on full throttle at 3000 to 3500 isn't optimal...I generally keep the rpms up more than that or downshift to get her up into the powerband.