Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I am looking at making a leap into the motorcycle world. I am a twenty-one year old college student living in New York City, NY. I have always been fascinated with vintage, classic motorcycles. I am an automotive technician by trade, but due to the limited work space I had to postpone my interest. Presently, I am debating over a '70's bonny or an 08 model - only a two thousand dollar difference between the specific models I am looking at. My step dad wants me to be safe and deems I purchase a newer, more reliable motorcycle; However, I would rather buy a "rat", something I wouldn't hesitate to rip apart and fix if I had to. I love the freedom and flexibility that comes with owning an older motorcycle from a mechanical standpoint.

Ok.. my main concern is about gear, I don't know what I will actually utilize and what would be a waste of money. I want to avoid making any mistakes and purchase reputable, high quality, necessary gear. I would love to get some feedback from members that have experience with selecting safe, functional gear. As crazy as I am, I was considering riding in my levis jeans and converse shoes. Aesthetically, I hate the look of bulky helmets (lollipop syndrome), matching leather tops and bottoms, and the massive biker boots. For me the helmet is the most important part and I don't mind wasting the most money on that item. I want to get a classic open face, something appropriate to classic European style.