Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I finally got around to taking some pics of my 04 RS. The only mods that I can see on the bike are the frame sliders and maybe the exhaust. I thought the exhaust was stock but not sure now, I am a newb to Triumph. It does say Triumph on it but I thought the stock pipes did not have any lettering on them. Maybe someone would be able to shed some light on that.

Still loving the bike but I am getting frustrated with the stiff / clunky shifting. I changed the oil to Mobile 1 4T Full Synthetic 10w-40 (all I could find) but it did not help at all. Any other suggestions? I tried to search but could not find too many answers. Just thought I would ask while I was posting this.

Attachments

·
Registered
117 Posts
Hmm, definitely not the same pipe that came on my RS... could very well be one of the optional mufflers from Triumph. Looks like the "add-on" reflectors on the forks and mudflap were removed (the rears apparently were never installed, as there are no holes evident).

I forget, did we have you check and adjust your clutch cable just to eliminate that as a shifting hassle? And did you adjust the chain? I'm frankly amazed the oil change didn't smooth things out for you...

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Gearhead

Adjusting the Chain was my next thought. I will look into that as well as the clutch adjustment. Wish I had a centerstand or bike stand, maybe I will be able to talk the wife into letting me get one of those. ;)

Well, it is 70 degrees out and I am going ride.
:D

·
Premium Member
24,231 Posts
Exhaust is...............

TEX the exhaust is the Triumph off road Stainless steel race can, I have the same puppy on my Sprint.

You should be running with the off road tune also to make the mixture more rich to suit.