Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will soon be in possession of a 2011 Sprint GT. 7200 miles. A new battery was installed 2 years ago. Not sure yet what that battery is yet. Wondering if a new battery investment might be wise, since I don't know the use history, and do not want any no-start surprised. I'm no expert, but so far the Odyssey seems like a good choice. Is it? Is there better? Is the Odyssey PC925 the best of their line for a GT?

Thanks for your help and advice.

MD

·
Registered
1,980 Posts
Yuasa too.

Better double check the charging system and maybe put a series RR. Shindengen SH847 for instance. You'll need an adapter cable set like triumph ref T2500676 .
You may want to find a cheaper SH775 if you never run the engine above 9k rpm and you don't add a ton of power consumer on you bike. A used one from a Polaris for instance. That's what I did.

Be sure to buy a genuine Shindengen. Not one of the fakes we can see everywhere.

You may want to read that.

My first Yuasa on the GT lasted 8 years. I changed it as a precaution measure but it was still good maybe a little weak. The new one is a Yuasa as well. Always keep it on the charger.

And while you are at it, you may upgrade the starting cables. I put 25mm² and the starter spins much faster now saving battery and sprag.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The question has to be asked, why get a new battery if it's not needed?
A sensible question. I'm thinking ahead. And probably over reacting, based on a recent bad battery experience with a moto guzzi. The smart thing to do will be to see what I have first. Today is the day I'm picking up this Sprint GT. First thing I'll do when I get it home is check the battery. See whether it has an alarm to.