Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I’m new here and just purchased a 2004 bonneville t100 and was wondering what oil weight to use? The previous owner was using a combo of 2quarts 20w50, 1quart 10w30 and the last being 5w20.
The brand? Castrol gtx for all.
The PO was a mechanical engineer and had plenty of convincing reasons as to why I should use this mixture- I’m thinking I’m gonna stick with it unless convinced otherwise. Thanks

·
Registered
2022 Triumph Bonneville Street Twin
413 Posts

·
Administrator
3,237 Posts
I am a mechanical and aerospace engineer and I would like to hear the logic behind the mixture. Not knocking it - just curious. I am and have been a long-time proponent of Castrol GTX oils. Just seems a little odd to mix one qt. of semi-synth. with three of standard petroleum with all the different weights to end up with around a 10/30W ?

Nice looking bike & looks like a great find!

·
Registered
88 Posts
"The PO was a mechanical engineer and had plenty of convincing reasons as to why I should use this mixture- I’m thinking I’m gonna stick with it unless convinced otherwise. Thanks"

Obsessive compulsive disorder? Typical engineer? Maybe both?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Be interesting to share the logic of the mixture.
Castrol Power One was supplied with my 2012 Bonneville (Simi Valley California dealer) and my 2022 Bonneville (Las Vegas Nevada dealer)

View attachment 759970
I think the idea was that the 50 would help in hotter conditions while the lower viscosity added helped dilute the mixture to provide better circulation upon cold starts/ all around

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·