Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys im new to site and have just bought a 1999 thunderbird sport.As this bike was sitting around for 2 years i changed the oil and filter.i drain 4.5 litres out,but when refilling oil i can only put 3 litres in any more it over fills the inspection glass.i have started and taken for a run and i am checking when on the center stand.The book says 4 litres what am i doing wrong[i did drain from 17mm bottom drain plug]thanks for any help and advise

·
Premium Member
3,793 Posts
I'd say it was overfilled when you drained it. Mine takes a bit over 3 us quarts to refill it when changing the oil. The 4 literes in the book is for a total engine rebuild. There is quite a bit of oil still inside the engine when you drain it. It is in the oil passages, etc. and does not come out with a simple draining.

·
Premium Member
398 Posts
No disrespect dave but I don't think you can drain 4.5 litres out of a 4 litre base. As for trying to get four litres back in it just won't happen, there is always some left in there.;)

·
Premium Member
6,462 Posts
I'd say it was overfilled when you drained it. Mine takes a bit over 3 us quarts to refill it when changing the oil. The 4 literes in the book is for a total engine rebuild. There is quite a bit of oil still inside the engine when you drain it. It is in the oil passages, etc. and does not come out with a simple draining.
.......+1

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
I agree on it being overfilled. The only other explanation is if gasoline mixed with it from leaky carb inlet needles but I am certain you would have smelled that...:)

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks for your replies..the bike must have been overfilled by last owner.His just read the book and put 4 litres in.Thanks for putting my mind at rest as i did not to run the bike under/overfilled.You do check on centerstand and when cold thanks again

·
Registered
34 Posts