Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,
I have an 03 Sprint ST that doesn't seem to be leaking oil, however I am losing it somewhere. There is no sign of leaking anywhere in my garage or on the bike it self.

I rode about 500 miles in the last week and went from full to 3 qts low. What do i need to check?? Where is the bike using this oil? I guess I need to get it into the shop, but am hoping to trouble shoot here so I have some idea what is up.

I have no complaints regarding the ride...only this oil thang. Oh ya, i have 12K on the bike and I use synthetic racing oil.

cheers and thanks in advance for any advice,
donna

·
Premium Member
24,407 Posts
Hi demenshea,
I am no mechanic but I would be getting a compression test done or do it yourself if you have a guage.

That doesn't seem right to me.

My '04 ST has 30,000kms on it and I do use a little oil but not very much maybe 200mills between oil changes and I ride hard most of the time, my engine gets a real work over every time I ride which is just weekends.

I think with your low milage something is amiss.

What grade oil are you using?

Davem
:cool:

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
The bike should be pretty wet somewhere if it's leaking 3 qt per 500 miles.

Does it blow a lot of blue smoke? Something on the order of a stunt plane? I wouldn't expect it to be running well at all. The plugs should be fouled.

You didn't check the oil on the center stand the first time and side stand the second by any chance? Sorry, had to ask.

If all else checks out find the plugged airbox drain tube and pull the plug over a pan. I would also have a look inside the airbox for excess oil from the crankcase vent.
The engines can hydro-lock if they take much oil in the intake, check the airbox.

·
Registered
499 Posts
Donna,