Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, In case there is any question about the in frame or other oil filters, here's my Motao in frame filter after 1500 miles.
Notice the dirty oil around base plate, but not inside.
Notice the dirty tin on filter element bottom end. Notice how clean tin is inside filter.
Keeps oil cleaner looking about twice as long.
I don't know what the black stuff is. Not magnetic, a very fine power. Too fine to measure with my micrometer. Would it end up in sludge trap? I don't know

Spin on filters I've cut apart work same as good.

I have no experience with Triple type filters.
Don

IMG_3647.JPG
IMG_3648.JPG

·
Premium Member
158 Posts
Nothing gives me more peace of mind than the oil filter I added to my Bonnie!

After I installed the filter I continued the 1,000 mile oil change schedule that I followed on the advice of the fellow I bought the bike from (a factory trained Triumph mechanic back in the day).

I have sometimes wondered if I'm wasting oil - although after 1,000 miles it's pretty darn black! Wondering if you had an opinion about that, Don, considering that you are changing at 1,500 miles?

·
Registered
73 Posts
Thanks for sharing, Don! I can't wait to see the results of my oil filter upgrade on my 79 T140E. I hope they are similar to your photos. The weather here in corn country has not been conducive to riding lately. My rejetting of the MK2s to Euro specs has improved performance to a level that makes it hard not to push the Bonne more than I have in the past, so adding the filter certainly gives one peace of mind!

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi Bruce, I don't really know what is best. I'll give you what I did & some thoughts & observations.