Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
12,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There has been a lot of discussion on this topic, and nobody has spelled it out, so I thought I might do so.

I have registered at least a dozen bikes through Vermont, COMPLETELY LEGALLY.



You must have a valid Bill Of Sale to start with, and it MUST include: Date of sale, Seller's name and address, bike's serial number, bike year, make, model & displacement, amount paid, and odometer reading. Or, use the VT form.

I have also used TWO Bills of Sale, one for the frame, and one for the engine, in the case of a Triton.

VT registration application - http://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/VD-119-Vehicle_Reg_Tax_Title_App.pdf
Instructions - http://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/VD-119i-Registration_App_Instructions.pdf
Bill Of Sale - http://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/VT-005-Bill_Of_Sale_Odometer_Cert_0.pdf

Take a clear photo of the bike from the side, as close as you can to get the whole bike in the shot, and rotate the camera frame horizontal so there's not a lot of background above or below. USE THE "BEFORE" PHOTO(S) IF BASKET CASE!

Go to NADA website, select the year & model, find the bike's value, and print out the sheet - http://www.nadaguides.com/Motorcycles

I have at times included a detailed statement challenging the NADA value, based on the fact that certain bikes were obtained as rough basket cases or incomplete, rusty rollers. I was successful by simply extrapolating the lower value based on NADA's values for "Average", Good", and "Excellent", and keeping that number reasonably close to the lowest NADA price if there was a big gap from purchase price to NADA value.

Take the bike to whichever of these will perform the VIN check and sign the VT form, and can provide you with the inspector's statement on their letterhead - state vehicle safety inspection station, police department, highway patrol station, DMV, County Tax Assessor's office, etc.

I have a local State vehicle inspection station that has done dozens of inspections for me over the years; I provide their "letterhead" that I made myself with their shop's logo and address info at the top, a single-sentence statement, and a signature line. Took me 5 minutes to produce with MS Word.

Calculate the tax, add it to the registration fee, and include that amount in a check or money order with the forms, photo, and print-outs, and mail it off WITH CORRECT POSTAGE!

Done.

In about 2 weeks, you get the registration receipt, sometimes same time you get the plate. In a couple more days you get the registration card and a little sticker to put on the plate (not sure why they don't send the whole mess at once, they just don't)

Never worry about buying an untitled motorcycle again, as long as you know the seller is legit, and you can come back to him in a pinch. I've found life is easier if I simply never worry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,431 Posts
While the process you describe is legal to obtain a Vermont registration and plate, you as a Texas resident are breaking the law by riding it in Texas with a Vermont plate. Texas law says that you must get Texas plates and registration for every vehicle within 30 days of moving to Texas and since you are already here you don't even get the 30 days. And don't give me the argument that no cop has ever stopped you before. All you need is one gungho rule stickler to fine you. Texas has a bonded title procedure for missing titles. Yes it is more of a hassle and costs more but it works and you end up with a true Texas title and plate. Other states likely have the same resident requirement. Otherwise people would register vehicles in what ever state was the cheapest and not their home state. I moved to Texas from Louisiana and after I got my Texas driver license I had to get Texas registration and plates for my vehicles within the 30 days. Texas wants your fee's and tax money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
244 Posts
once you have the out-of-state title and registration, you have everything necessary to go to your local DMV and get local registration.

i went through it in california with a car that had plates from chihuahua.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top