Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Here it finally is. The unveiling of XM-1 (Experiential Motorcycle #1) for the internet.

This is a project that started back in 1996 with a 78 Bonnie 750 motor in a milk crate in pieces and a 1974 Corbon Jentry chopper frame. the front end was from the 78 with longer tubes and the rear wheel was a 68. There isn't too much on this bike that was bought on the shelf almost everything i touched i had to grind, cut, weld, bend my self.

About 10 years ago I started building my first bike. It was a basket case 78 Triumph Bonneville 750 that I paid $500 for. I was a welder/fabricator with a vision but no knowledge of working on motorcycles or trends and styles. So I spent about 400 hrs in the first year either building the motor or thinking how can I make what I wanted then actually making it. Almost everything had to be hand made or massively modified to function.

First thing I did was rip apart the entire top end of the motor down to the connecting rods. I had the head re-machined/valve job and bored the jugs .060 over at Hutches in Wakefield MA. (Then I had to put it all back together). While I was waiting for parts I had the rear wheel rebuilt with a 130 Continental Blitz as I was going for a drag bike look and that was the widest I could get in the frame (before I knew about jack shafts) and I still had to machine custom spacers to move the brake drum/chain sprocket out to clear the tire. The rear wheel came off a 68 and the brake drum is on the left. I knew that I would have to make some kind of cross over linkage but I figured I would cross that bridge later.