Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody!! This is my first post here!! I have a very exiting problem that I need to youre help on. I am ready to purchase my first bike. I am completely new to riding, as the only experience I have is some dirtbike riding on the "old farm land" I grew up on. I originally wanted a "muscle" bike, as I love the "bully" attitude about them, but none of them really has any style. I was at my local bike shop the other day to look at a VMAX, and there in the corner was this solid black speedy, and I fell in love with it. Now I know the speedy is no muscle bike, I've done my homework, but It seems the 865 motor has about the same hp/torque rating as a stock 1340 Evo HD motor, which is something I can live with, but I have visions of airbox deletes and sceptres running through my head!! Now, Im a big dude: Im 6'-0" and around 320lbs. Is the speedy gonna have enough grunt to tote me around at a decent speed? I'm not a speed freak, and will mostly be riding with other cruisers, but I dont wanna get left behind or feel like I'm on a moped either!! I love the concept of the Rocket III, but in my mind it's looks are too unbalanced, (the big ugly chrome thing on the left side of the tank, one exhaust pipe on the left, two on the right, etc...) And I love the Yamaha Warrior and the Suzuki M109R, but I dont know that I wanna drop $13k on my first bike.... Tell me guys, would I be making a good choice on the speedy??

·
Registered
3,845 Posts
Look no further. You have found Nirvana.
I was a newly licensed rider after taking the MSF Course (a must!) in November 2005 and got my Speedmaster by Thanksgiving.

It's a great middleweight cruiser. The wife & I ride 2-up so you'll have no trouble getting around. Don't wait another second, go get that Speedmaster.