Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First-off, I'm a trumpet and Rat newbie so please forgive any initial fluffs or etiquette breaches until I get my footing. Been riding for 30-years, but just purchased a used 2000 Speed Triple. I always wanted one but was attached to my '87-90 VFR (sorry). After getting smashed by a negligent driver (backing out of a front yard parking pad at high speed without looking while on prescription meds) approx 500-feet from my private drive, three surgeries and 14-months of rehab, I finally got my triple much to the chagrin of girlfriend, family and friends. It's in pretty good shape--moderate mileage, corbin seat, aluminum/carbon fiber flyscreen, underseat carbon fiber exhaust, etc. Thought I got a good deal until that first longish ride.

Upon parking, there was the strong smell of gas and then the inevitable little puddle formed beneath the bike. The previous owner
said to be careful not to overfill the tank--his only claimed problem--and I am. But this can't be right. Cold rainy weather in NYC and outdoor parking (and my job, finally back at work) have prevented me from a more careful exam.

Am asking for two things to get me started in sorting this out. First, how common is stuff like this--my presumption is it's not? Duh! And second, can anyone recommend any mechanics, preferably non-dealer, who I can trust with my trumpet....FYI, I live in Brooklyn, NY--hope my accent didn't give me away.

·
Registered
936 Posts
Welcome nbc, First off you have on overflow area at the top of your filler, excess gas flows out via an overflow pipe, there is also a vent hose, are you getting a vacum in the tank ie open the gas filler after a ride and get an air pressure build up. if you do the hoses are on back to front or blocked. check they are clear by blowing thru them then swap them round.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for jumping-in--much appreciated.