Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 03 Speedmaster. Last year I adjusted the ignition pick up coil to the new specs that I found on here. Had the carbs torn apart and cleaned.I figured it was apart waiting for parts. Why not. It ran good for 4 months. Then the problem started. It would run for about 5 min. then it would just shut off. Now it cranks, but will not start at all. I have replaced the coils, spark plugs , put a Procon CDI on it, tried new spark plug cables, checked the kill switch, checked the kick stand switch, and all connections look good. Still no spark. I checked the coils, ignition pick up coil, and the stator with a ohms meter and they seems in the range I found on other posts. Any ideas?

·
Registered
557 Posts
Have you checked, ignition on, whether there is power to the coil? If there is you are back to checking components rather than connectivity.

·
Registered
3,713 Posts
I agree with Callumity. The first thing you should do, if you haven't already, is get a wiring diagram and start checking for voltage, starting with the coils. Are both plugs not sparking? If so, this would point to a fault common to both coils, such as a faulty ignition switch or a break in the wiring - even a popped fuse - have those been checked? Start at the coil and work back until you reach the fuse block.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)