Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m new to triumph and bought myself a 955i during winter as I’d heard they were a really grippy bike. Went out on it for the first time last week and have done about 400 miles. I don’t know if I need to alter the suspension but it feels really hard ( there’s not a lot of dip under braking) and the back end is sliding a lot on low speed bends and corners. The tyres are Pirelli’s and I have 32 and 42 psi in the front and rear. The tyres are quite new looking. I really don’t feel confident on it at all. Any help on the suspension would be good as like I said I’m new to it and I don’t know if it’s been adjusted hard or wether it is normal. The next step would be to fit tyres I know but don’t want to do this if it’s just a suspension adjustment I need.

·
Registered
494 Posts
First of all let us know which 955i you bought.

The tyres might be new looking but they could've been on for a while. Check the manufacturing date, it's an ovalised 4 digit number embossed in the sidewall. Have attached an example picture to help you identify what you should be looking for.

Tyre Date.jpg

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
Further to what Terry said....if the tyres are 5 years or older....definitely replace them.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah just checked they’re 2013. Thanks for the heads up. By the way it’s a 2003 speed triple. Unfaired.

·
Registered
864 Posts
As already suggested definitely try new tyres first if they are 7 years old, any brand new half decent sports touring tyre will feel a lot better, especially at this time of year.
I would also check any adjustments on your suspension against the owner's manual if you have one, set it to the normal road setting or even comfort setting if there is one and see if that feels any better.