Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete newbie to Triumph Bonnevilles. I trying to purchase a 1970 Bonnie. I looked at my fist one yesterday, but walked away with 3 questions that I cannot find answers to. Any help would greatly appreciated.

1. The handle bars "wobbled" a little bit. In other words, they had a lot of play in them. Not steering wise, but more up and down. I was told this was on purpose to allow for the vibration of the bike. Is this correct?

2. When starting the bike, the owner primed the carbs manually (with a "pipper") until a couple of drops of fuel leaked out onto the case. Is this correct?

3. The owner said both the top and bottom half had been rebuilt. The engine was very clean, but under the case was a drop of oil and visible signs of past oil spread. I know the Bonnivilles leak, but was a little surprised to see the leak on a rebuilt. It has been sitting for a while. Is this normal?

Again, thank you very much for your help! Can't wait to purchase one!

·
Registered
220 Posts
1. Yes, the bars are rubber-mounted as an antivibration measure;

2. Yes, but they're generally called ticklers not pippers;

3. Yes, they all leak oil. Its a sign they still have oil in them.

Good luck with your purchase but be aware that Triumphs are not for everyone. They require lots of maintenance, patience and mechanical sensitivity.

Bruce

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
smell my finger ;)

gotta get one of those t-shirts :)

·
Registered
601 Posts
rpedersen,

Welcome to the forum. I see Abmar got your questions covered.
Good luck with shopping for a ride.

Also Abmar got it right about a higher maintance ride. These
vintage rides do need to be checked more for trouble free
riding time, however, I can see no better way to spend some
time in the garage.

Pookybear

·
Registered
34 Posts