Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All!
New to the site and about to pull the trigger on my first bike (only other one is a project 78' CB750 that got maybe 1 month of riding between all the repairs/etc).
I've got my heart set on a Thruxton R but I'm really torn between my options:

1. $9,500 (unnegotiated) - A gorgeous but heavily modded 2016 R with 8000 miles (of all the mods i'm most worried about the exhaust wrap and how difficult it will be to remove)
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1044703275724981

2. $9,000 ( unnegotiated) - A stock 2016 R in red with 3000 miles (there's another that's basically the same with 8000 miles a few blocks away from this guy)

3. $10,500 - A dealer sold brand new 'executive demo' with 25 miles on it and full warranty (they'll even ship it to my door for $299)

It seems to me like the new bike at that price OTD is basically pre-depreciated, but I'm new to buying non-garbage motorcycles and I really don't know if the $1500-2500 premium is worth it for a brand new bike. I'm also newly in NYC and worried that i might actually hate riding here, so if I decide to sell in a year or so what would the expected resale value of each be? (i.e. would i get that 'new bike premium' back)

Any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
46 Posts
I think there's a bunch of guys on this site that are trying to sell their bikes as well. I got a 2016 TTR from Philly it only had 300 miles on it and I paid $11 k my problem was that it was the only one in flat black that I found and it had the fairing already installed. I also traded in my 2012 Bonneville on it so I only ended up paying like $7k

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I just did a quick search in the classifieds and found this one. Looks like he's located in NY