Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Morning every one, ( Hope I am in the right section of this forum )

Just joined up this fantastic place and thought I would post my first thread. I am coming out of Canada BC - I see several of you guys are around my area too ( lower mainland ).

I have no previous bike experience - I don't even own a bike. But I have been trying to educate my self as well as trying to locate some thing local for a wile. I thought it would be wise to join up here and chat / lurk with all you veterans!

I am actually looking for a restoration project, Nothing fancy. I have been looking for a wile in my local papers and all I find is restored bikes for big $$
My main interest would be from 1955-1970 Triumph TR6 Tiger Bonneville etc......Here is what I am thinking, Even though its customs this is what I would be aiming for.
http://motorbike-search-engine.co.uk/Custom/69-tiger-650.JPG
http://motorbike-search-engine.co.uk/Custom/bonneville-t120r.jpg

Simple sleek and rugged.
I guess I will need to start from a parts bike or rust bucket, Which would be ideal but I haven't located any.
Possibly even just a fame and some wheels and then scrounge or source the motor and gear box and such?

I would love to attend some meetings if its for general chat ( obviously I have nothing to ride around with ) and meet / chat with some of you guys for further education.
I will be honing on my skills I have attained from my tool and die / millwright experience and training to get me where I need to be.

So if any one can shed some light on my predicament I would greatly appreciate it, I will do plenty of reading and lurking in here.

Take care guys.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Good morning,

I just saw your thread and had a good chuckle at your last comment!!