Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
new member of the forums, long time stalker ... I've been riding my older gsxr for about 4 years now and I am looking for a speedy.. well i found one but having little knowledge about them I'm asking for some advice:

it is a 07' speed triple w/ 8k miles that has a salvaged title. Owner says it was due to a low speed dumb that resulted in scratches, a couple cracks in the rear plastics, and loss the foot peg. he replaced the engine cover and fixed pretty much everything and it is now cleared by the dmv. asking $4500 , it might need a new oil cooler due to a pinhole leek where the line enters but I'm not sure if he said he fixed that or not.

any thoughts on the bike or general situation would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I would be very wary of anything with a salvage title. It normally takes a lot more than scratches and plastics to cause that.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what scares you guys so much about a salvaged title? since most of the bikes on the road today have been down before and many more than once ... i do not speak from experience though about salvages, just thought ...

·
Registered
436 Posts
what scares you guys so much about a salvaged title? since most of the bikes on the road today have been down before and many more than once ... i do not speak from experience though about salvages, just thought ...
You don't know what else has happened to the bike, or the severity of the crash it was involved in.

There are alot of used bikes that have never been layed down. It's also the off season in most states for buying motorcycles. You should be able to find alot of bikes in better condition to choose from.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #9