Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a newbie that would greatly appreciate some advice. First, a little about my Tiger. It's a '95 carb model with just under 18k miles. I got it 2 weeks ago. I stumbled across this bike, did a little research, rode it, and did the deal. Everything seems to be in great condition for a 14 year old bike. I've already put a little over 500 miles on it without any issues. After riding a while, I do have some questions. First, riding at highway speed seems OK until I get to 75-80 mph. At this point I'm turning ~5000rpm and get some decent vibrations from the engine. From everything I've found on various forums, I think I need to adjust my sprocket size so I don't have to turn high rpms at highway speed. Does this sound like the right solution? Or should I be concerned about the engine vibrations at high rpm (i.e. is the vibration normal)? Can anyone recommend sprocket sizes for front and rear? Should I only change the front or rear? Also, what is the OEM sprocket size for this bike, I can't seem to find that info anywhere. Thanks in advance....

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Hi adventurerider54 and Welcome to the forum !! a couple of things to check 1 is the chain to tight, Tiggers like it loose !! 2 hows the tyres, if they`re old and out of balance it could give you vibration !!

hope this helps !!

KK

ps what side of the pond, its good to know where owners are from ( not addresses ) :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
KuzzinKenny: