Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a red Thruxton R yesterday. It had just been delivered to the dealership so it won't be ready until Saturday.

I've been riding for over 25 years and have owned Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Suzuki, BMW, and now a Triumph. My current bikes are a Honda GL1800 and a BMW F650GS single.

The Thruxton is the first bike I've bought because I wanted that specific bike. Previously, I've always looked for a category of bike, then researched the decision into the ground and bought what I felt was the best of the category for me. This time, after seeing the reviews and owner impressions, I just had to have a Thruxton R. I did look at alternatives, but they all left me cold. I wasn't even aware of the Thruxton R until Sunday, and bought one 3 days later.

I had called the closest dealership yesterday at lunch to see if they had one, and was told they did not. 5 hours later, I got a text of one just delivered, and the right color. A couple of hours after that, I owned it. This is actually the first time I've ever gotten the color I wanted out of 19 vehicles I've owned in my lifetime.

I feel as excited to own this bike as I was for my first bike.

·
Administrator
19,459 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

I sat on one of these at the Bonneville Reborn Tour stop in Nashville earlier this year. Man, it was love! What a stunning motorcycle! If only I could afford a third new Triumph in the budget...

The Water Cooled Twins Talk forum is where you can connect with other new Bonneville riders. Introduce yourself there, post photos of your Thruxton, and join the conversation.

http://www.triumphrat.net/water-cooled-twins-talk/

Cheers!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi,
I've ordered the same colour, looks cool. Can you let me know how you get on please? Interested in your thoughts...