Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here! My 2012 T100 is in the exact same colors as the one shown in the attached Triumph promotional photo. I'd like a set of saddlebags, and silencers that give a soft, low rumble rather than the infamous sewing machine sound. Soooo...

1) Any suggestions on saddlebags?
2) Will I need any sort of attachments or supporting structure to mount them?
3) I'm not going to remove the baffles from my existing mufflers - that idea is out. Does anyone sell aftermarket silencers that give a nice, low toned rumble? (No super loud pipes!! I'd rather walk than sound like a Harley).

Attachments

·
Registered
6,139 Posts
Bonnevilles don't "rumble". Look for some used TORS (Triumph Off-Road) on eBay. They get nicer with age and aren't offensive.

OEM bags and supports show up on eBay too. Be patient.

·
Premium Member
2,447 Posts
I have Norman Hyde Togas on my T100 2013. Very nice improvement over stock and not overly loud (I live/ride in an urban environment).

For a side bags, I have a Iron & Resin Terrain Pannier which mounts via simple seat-belt material straps & "D"-rings to the frame rails.

See my lame-a$$ videos showing the bike, the side bag and the Toga sounds:

·
Registered
109 Posts
I have the saddlebags in your photo and am very happy with them. With pipes I suggest seek out bikes with different pipes for a comparison. Opinions differ as far as what is loud and too loud so you be the judge yourself. I tries TORS but took them off after 5,000km. I swapped them out for Norman Hyde Toga Classics. They are not loud but do sound great. (opinion of course)

Attachments

·
Registered
539 Posts