Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A post to say hi as I have just joined and also today bought a 98 TBird. I pick it up on Friday and from all test rides and looks is immaculate. :)
This was a big thing for me, for the last 10 years I have been riding and maintaining a 79 T140 Bonneville. It has been a great bike and will be sad day when I sell it (soon):(
This looks the best forum to read and learn about this bike as there is nothing like owners views and experience. I am not a frequent chatter but will be reading everything I can and posting on the Tbird topics. I have been procrastinating for the last 5 years about this bike. I have looked at so many options for a better suited medium cruiser for longer tours and always came back to looking at the TBird. Its the looks that get me. A total bonus the reviews always read well also.
I like to do as much as I can myself but have no experience with this bike whatsoever.:confused:
The first job will be new chain and sprockets and my first query is.
How difficult is it to get at the front drive sprocket ?
I am assuming it worth changing both sprockets and chain together. This bike has 22,000 k's on it and never had a new chain. The loose play over the rear sprocket shows the wear.
regards
Murray from OZZY
PS I will post some pics as soon as get some decent ones.

·
Premium Member
6,462 Posts
G'day & welcome! Fine choice of machine...:D