Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the triumph family starting Friday. I have only had 1 bike before and it was an 82 kawasaki 750 csr. It was fun but I never did anything smart such as buying protective gear. Now that I'll be riding a 2001 Speed Triple I figure it is time to invest.
The problem is that I'm so new to motorcycling I'm not sure which of the brands are good and long lasting.
I want suggestions on a Jacket, gloves, pants, boots/shoes and whatever else.
Keep in mind that I'm in college thus I'm a poor college student haha
Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
53 Posts
I would look at the Tourmaster Air Intake 2 jacket. It is a great three season jacket at a very reasonable price. As far as boots, it depends on your style, but I like the Ariat Alloy for an engineer boot.

·
Registered
512 Posts
My current favorite for decent quality affordable gear is Scorpion. Other brands to look for are Cortech, Firstgear, & Teknic among others. Sidi makes great boots, but pricey.

Oh yeah, wear earplugs - I like the Howard Leight laser-lite disposable plugs. I think you can get a box of 200 for $20.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Scropion helmet, Sidi boots, Olympia gloves are all good investments. I've been using them for years and have been very happy with the price and quality. Sidi boots are a bit more expensive; but I have worn a lot of boots; and, in my opinion, Sidi makes some of the best ones out there. As for jackets, take your pick. There is a lot to choose from. Olympia makes a good high-visibility jacket. Cheers!

·
Registered
345 Posts