Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This forum always pops up in Google search when I'm looking for some information, so after buying my 3rd Bonneville, I finally decided to join and maybe ask some questions directly.

I've been riding since 1987, but took about a 10 year break after wrecking and busting up a tibia in 2005. Previously I had ridden various Japanese bikes, a couple of BMWs and a HD Road King for 10 years. When I got back into it riding a few years back I wanted something lighter than a big hog but still a classic looking bike. After looking around I ended up with one of the last of the air cooled T100s. This soon proved to be a bit too small (I'm 6' and 225 lb) and there were numerous things I didn't like, like one front brake and the ignition key on the side of the front light. I was resistant to getting a newer water cooled Triumph, but other than that the newer Bonnies solved all the issues I didn't like about the T100, add they do a good job of hiding the radiators. I found a slightly used 2017 in Cinder Red, and luckily some of the aftermarket parts I bought for the T100 fit onto the T120. I was even able to use the Triumph waxed saddle bags with just a swap of T120 hangers. I sold the T100 to another ex-rider looking to get back into it and have been happy with the T120 ever since. The only issue I had with the T120 was the shocks were too weak for my size, and when my wife got on too the rear end actually seemed to sway. I quickly solved this with the Fox shocks made for Triumph. I've turned this into sort of a bagger, with the saddle bags and a big Plexifaring, but its mainly an around town runner that I can do some shopping and an occasional country ride.