Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, newbie here. :)

I've done a search on the forums and, after some good advice from the members here, I'm still no closer to solving my problem.

I've an 02 plate Tiger 955i which I bought second hand about 1-year ago. I did about 5000 trouble free miles in it (back-and-forth to Scotland) before this trouble started.

When travelling at speed, my temperature gauge sits happily towards the bottom of the scale. However, once the engine is up to temperature and I am moving slowly or am stationary the temperature creeps up. This is inevitably followed by coolant puking forth from the overflow and a general gurgling sound.

Now, let me tell you what I've done already, so as to save time...

I've already dismantled the cooling system by removing the radiator, lifting the fuel tank and taking out the thermostat manifold. By the way, the radiator is fine, the fan works a treat and the pump is 100%.

If you now open the attachment I've put on here I can explain a bit better what I'm next going to say...

Under normal conditions (i.e. when the coolant is cold), the flow of coolant is between 1 & 2. I established this by doing the old blow test ;). I added a kettle of boiling water into the manifold by pouring it into number 1, ostensibly to see if the thermostat was doing its job. Hey presto, within 30 seconds the thermostat had opened (closed?) and water passed into number 3. So it appears that the thermostat is working fine, as is pretty much everything else (as far as I can gather). The question is, what the heck can it be? It's not a complicated coolant circuit, but I just can't fathom it out?

Possible answers:
1) The radiator cap needs replaced (it looks fine to me, and seems to be sealing well).