Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding legally for 36 years (man, I'm old). Over that time I've ridden a slew of different bikes from a tin-can rocket of a Kawasaki H2 Mach IV 750, an old Suicide Shifter, numerous Slash 5s and 6s, a Harley Heritage Classic, a Bultaco Astro and a handful of dirt trackers, a series of vintage Brit bikes, an RE5 (anyone know what that is?) and the list goes on.
Starting in the dirt on 2-stokers in my teens quickly taught me that I'm not invincible and that hitting a stationary object like a tree can kill you. Also seeing a few crash & burns on the street as inexperienced riders went beyond their limits, tamed my desire for a crazy-fast bike for the road. I kept my speed governed, and my pegs from scraping simply by avoiding from owning fast sport bikes. Too much of a temptation to ride them the way they were designed: balls to the wall.
A lumbering KLR650 kept me safely riding short distances for several years until I decided that I wanted something with bags. Preferably hard bags. And a more comfortable seat. And how about something that handled a bit better? Sticking with the bullet-proof nature of the KLR, I found a nearly-new '02 Kawasaki Concours C10 (ZG1000). Although a very respectable sport tourer for its vintage, it lacks - and always has lacked one thing: character. I compare it to a Crown Vic. An indestructable machine that will go on forever...with a ride and presence that is completely devoid of personality or character.
With the exception of the C10 and KLR, although all of the bikes that I mention are dramatically different from one another, they all have one thing in common: character.
So what's a good replacement for my tried and tested Concours? Something with bags and character?
Contemporary bikes with character are on a short list. Ducatis come to mind. So do Guzzis....and so do Triumphs.