Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, guys;
As you can see from the number of posts, I'm a newbie. Have an '02 Sprint RS and it's time for new tires. I'm from a Supermoto background - I know what works for my needs there - but what rubber is out there that works well for the RS? :confused:

Any suggestions appreciated!

Thanks,
Cowboy

·
Registered
124 Posts
:eek: Now you've done it... the Fun Police :policeman: will be here in a minute and tell you to use the search function...

Seriously though, there's plenty to get you started here.

Enjoy.

Muz

·
Registered
267 Posts
Hi, guys;
As you can see from the number of posts, I'm a newbie. Have an '02 Sprint RS and it's time for new tires. I'm from a Supermoto background - I know what works for my needs there - but what rubber is out there that works well for the RS? :confused:

Any suggestions appreciated!

Thanks,
Cowboy
you will find nearly everything you want to know about maintenance in the....wait for iiiiit....Maintenance thread ... :p

In the mean time...here ya go

http://www.triumphrat.net/maintenance-tips-and-tricks-for-your-sprint/

Third sticky post down

·
Registered
8,091 Posts
Hi Cowboy and welcome to the forum.

I have a Pilot Power 2CT on the front and a regular Pilot Power on the back. I find it a good combo IMO and have tried a few BT020, BT014, BT016, Dunlop 208RR (now that WAS a good tyre).

The PP combo is great for the twisties and gives me reasonable mileage for the type of riding I do and that is the crux of the matter.

What type of riding do you do mainly and mileage that you expect for a set.

The RS are quite heavy on tyres in the front and do have a tendency to push hard through corners. This can cause them to scrub and cup badly if the tyre is not suited to the bike.

I would get the combo again tomorrow if I had to. Hope this helps. P.S. tell us where you are. It does help :)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5