Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am new to this thread. My girlfriend recently inherited a 1967 T120R. We had it serviced recently to get it up and running again. When it came back, it was running great. However, being the idiot that I am, I messed with (what I believe to be) the throttle stop screws because I wanted a little bit of a different idle.

Now, I cannot get it to idle if I'm not barely on the throttle. I know nothing about these bikes, and was wondering if someone could give me a process to reset these screws? Because the carbs were tuned and running well, I just nervously messed with them and now made them worse. Thank you for any help.

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
Hi James. Best ask on the Classic forum
Carbs are black magic to me, I had a T140 and it confused me greatly. I hope she isn't giving you too hard a time over messing her motorcycle up :)

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Hi James
The problem you have is that you now have no reference point for the carb settings, to balance between left and right carb once you have turned the screws.
1) On the back of the carb there are two extension trumpets if you gently unscrew these you will be able to see into the back of the carburettors.
2) If you twist the throttle you can see the two air slides lift, make sure that you have about 1/16" free play on the cables before the slides move.
3) Get two pieces of thin stiff wire (gas welding rod is ideal) about 5-6" long, and wedge one of them under the cutout in the back of each carburettor slide. So that the rods balance on the edge of the carb, but are stopped from falling by the end tucked under the slide.
4) Now unscrew the idle speed screw (marked on your picture with the yellow arrow), the end of the rod should lift as the slide lowers. You will reach a point where the rod stops lifting as the slide is fully down.