Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Premium Member
654 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How To Install MFW Foot Pegs

Disclaimer

I am not a mechanic, just a poor-soul trying to get by cheap. My instructions may not include the correct language or proper descriptions of the parts and mechanical devices. I learn simply by trial and error and call-it-as-I-see-it. That said; follow my instructions at your own risk! Cheers!

Shifter Side

1. Remove the small circular wire-retaining clip securing the front ball joint at the forward end of the shifter rod. Take note of how the clip is positioned for the reinstall.

2. Push the front ball joint off the pivot ball. You may have to loosen the Allen bolts holding on the foot peg assembly to allow the ball joint to swing free.

3. Remove the above-mentioned Allen bolts. The foot peg assembly can now be removed as you pull the shifter rod though the opening in the bike’s frame toward the rear of the bike.

4. Remove the shift lever from the back of the foot peg assembly by removing the Allen head bolt. You will need to place the assembly in a vice as the Allen head bolt is secured with super lock-tight. I used vise grips on the garage floor on a wooden block.

5. Now you can remove the factory foot peg by first removing the circular clip at the bottom of the pivot pin and then driving out the retaining pin at the top with a 9/32 punch. Don’t loose the small retaining pin! Now pull out the pivot pin that holds the foot peg. The foot peg return spring may give you a little trouble as it catches on the groove at the top of the pivot pin.

6. Install the new foot peg making sure to align the spring properly as you slide in the pivot pin. Reinstall and drive in the small retaining (top) pin and install the bottom circular clip. Make sure you have not installed the new foot peg upside down! The bottom of the new foot peg has an indention (stop) that goes downward.