Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2013 Bonneville and I love her to bits. However, I do find one or two things a wee bit ugly looking. One of these things is the gurty big plastic urine sample container that is the master cylinder.

I know there are replacements out there..I have my eye on the direct mount made by Britisb Customs. However, when I look at various T100 models, they have the low profile and much sleeker looking oblong master cylinder.

I saw one of these on Ebay (not sure the year as the listing didn't say) but according to the seller's reply to my message, it will need fit onto my 2013 Bonnie.

Is there any year T100 master cylinder that I can do a straight swap with or will I have to go with the direct mount one from British Customs?

Please note, I am still a newbie with basic tools and knowledge, so please take that into account when responding. Thanks?

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Basic rule of thumb is that alloy wheel Bonnevilles have 7/8'' bars and spoke wheel Bonnevilles have 1'' bars.
Scramblers have 7/8'', Thruxtons with clip-ons have 7/8'', Thruxtons with full bars have 1''.

·
Registered
10,397 Posts
You'll need to be able to bleed the brake, which is as much an art as a science, and very frustrating the first couple times you do it. We all have tricks and favored techniques for accomplishing this, which you can read about all day if you search this forum.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys, but neither comment actually addressed my question about the master cylinder itself.

Basic rule of thumb is that alloy wheel Bonnevilles have 7/8'' bars and spoke wheel Bonnevilles have 1'' bars.
Scramblers have 7/8'', Thruxtons with clip-ons have 7/8'', Thruxtons with full bars have 1''.
I have bought a Renthal ultra low super bar to replace the stock one, and I already made sure it was 7/8".