Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone in the classics forum. I'm sorta jumping ship here since I'm a current Hinckley Bonnie owner but something occurred last week concerning the Meridens and I want to get your opinion. Before I get into it, I've attached a photo of my 1970 that I completely restored several years ago just so you know I'm not a newbie to the originals. Anyway, my wife and I went to a classic motorcycle auction in Deland,FL last week. There were dozens of British bikes, many of them Triumphs, and several of them were complete restorations. I looked the workmanship over very closely and was impressed with the little things like cadmium plating, chrome plating and electrics. At the rear of the auditorium was a sign saying swap meet outdoors. There were a couple vendors selling some genuine vintage pieces but what struck me were three vendors selling nothing but Taiwanese copies of vintage Triumph parts! I was stunned to see boxes and boxes of "cadmium like" nuts and bolts, new fork bolts, coils, seat covers, speedo and tach guages, tank badges,etc. I immediately went back inside and took even closer looks at the "restorations". It appeared that many of the parts used were from Taiwan! How do you guys and gals out there feel about this? Are these bikes REALLY to be considered restorations? Before someone jumps all over this Hinckley owner.....I'm well aware that my Bonnie is sourced from all over the world, including the far east, but it doesn't claim to be a vintage restoration. It is what it is...a modern tribute to the original. So, is using these cheap copies accepted now or are you all as disgusted as I am? ( Also, if you're out there, whoever bought my 1970 TR6 in Brooksville,FL in 1994...I'd like to buy it back!!!!) I'm going to sit back now and brace myself for the reponse