Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've tried the search function but didn't find anything.

I'm looking for a 7-plate clutch kit for a 1970 Bonneville
650, from a vendor in the US.

Does anyone have a source/link for this kit?

If not in the US, other vendors will be considered.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,458 Posts
HM, I guess its implicit in the question that you're having trouble with the 6 plate set up. Whilst I have no experience with the 7 plate kits, I'd be interested in why you're considering a change. RR

·
Premium Member
4,721 Posts
If you've got a spare steel plate,you can do with standard plates for about $10.
Do it the same way Triumph did on the later models;glue some friction material into the clutch basket with contact adhesive.
If you want good friction,use 1/16 thick cork sheet (gasket material).This stuff has about 3 times as much grip as the normal linings,and I've never worn one out.

The total stack-height of the plates is increased,so you need to bend 4 tangs on the outer steel plate inward at 45 degrees.Otherwise,the outer steel plate can drop down when the clutch is disengaged.

You then have 6-1/2 effective plates ,compared to the original 5-1/2 effective plates(18 % improvement).

·
Registered
478 Posts
I can't see why anyone wants a 7 plate clutch,I would rather spend the money on something else. There is nothing wrong with a standard Triumph clutch as long as it is set up properly with no deviation on the pressure plate. This can take up to 1/2 hour to get exactly right.

·
Premium Member
4,721 Posts
There is nothing wrong with a standard Triumph clutch as long as it is set up properly with no deviation on the pressure plate.
Triumph clutches are marginal,at best,and have been ever since Bonnevilles were invented.If you want to use full hosepower they are hardly,and often not,up to the job.
I gather that Plewsy recently fitted a 4-spring cush-drive to overcome the problem.