Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all,
some friends and i are gonna be comming out to new york in a couple weeks and just wanted to ask some locals about some travel tips...like things to see, places to visit, hidden gem eateries, local deals, events, skate spots, only gonna be there for about 5 days so i wanna pack in as much as i can, preferably stuff off the beaten path, i mean of course ground zero and things like the statue of liberty is a staple, but i wanna see things nobody goes to see or knows about... any help would be much appreciated!
thanks - chris

·
Registered
145 Posts
Go to the Cloisters in Fort Tyron Park, all the way at the north end of Manhatten. Not many tourists get up there. I've been visiting NYC for close to 30 years and just got up there for the first time last year. The Cloisters is a very cool museum, but the park has great gardens and sits WAY above the Hudson. I believe it's the highest point in the city by far. Well, the highest street-level in the city.

And try to leave lots of time to hang out in, and wander through, Central Park. It really is amazing. The landscape changes every few blocks: ponds, open fields, woods, and from manicured to wild. Sit and watch the people go by and you'll see all of humanity in half an hour.

·
Registered
952 Posts
Just off the top of my head:

Niagara Falls
the gorge in Letchworth State Park
Watkins Glen
Finger Lakes
Long Island Sound
Montauk Point
Poughkeepsie Railroad trestle
Downtown Ithaca
I'll skip the Adirondacks and Catkills since there are mountains in Colorado

There is a lot of NY north and west of Manhattan.

Where are you going to be and how far do you want to travel?

·
Banned
2,175 Posts
Take a day and run the Hudson north into the Hudson Valley. Bear Mountain, West Point, Poughkeepsie, Washington HQs...you don't even have to stop. Just make it a ride day...the Hudson Valley will blow you away.

·
Premium Member