Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,
I'm a newbie to the group. I'll start by saying I haven't ridden a motorcycle since the seventies, and just purchased a fairly basic 2004 Bonneville. It is a beautiful bike, single owner, well documented and maintained with 10K on the clock.
I should have it in about a week or two.
I've been a 'car guy' all my life and love stock/OEM cars, if I modify/upgrade anything, I usually do my best to keep things 'period correct'. Since I'm re-introducing myself to motorcycles, and buying the bike for a hobby, this 790cc should be perfect! Although, in 2004, the Bonnie only come in solid colors (mine is Cardinal Red), it was not my first choice as I prefer the two tone paint scheme w/scallops on the tank. There was something about this bike that kept drawing me back to it...it a good looking basic machine, and not all chromed out. Now my mind is going a mile a minute on what I can do, vs. what I should do. I was tempted to start ordering 'stuff' just because, but know I need to give it time and get to know the bike before doing anything (or nothing). I know that the bike is not a rare collectable, and is worth what it is worth, but as I said, I like stock/OEM vehicles, so here is dilemma, and what I think I want to do, but need feed back for the group;
  • Would changing the color/paint scheme make a big difference to anyone other than a purist who buys the bike in 40 years? I would consider possibly changing to a two tone color scheme on the tank, and fender color change as well. It would be 'period correct' (2001-2007), and be a winter project.
  • Possibly upgrade the following items over time.
    • Add OEM tach
    • BC - Custom pipes
    • BC - Air box removal kit
    • Re-jet the carbs, or replace/upgrade carbs
    • High Performance Piston Kit (904cc)
    • Possible swap out seat to a Thruxton seat